Celebrating 2023 School Board Recognition Month

FSD3 Celebrates 2023 School Board Recognition Month
Posted on 01/18/2023

Florence School District 3 joins school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month in January.

More than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout the state will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.

The theme “Forward Together” reminds us all to celebrate the unique role school boards play in championing and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools. As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for their public schools.

“FSD3 board members give their time and expertise with a focus on our mission to ensure all students are college or career ready,” said Superintendent Dr. Laura Hickson. “This month we honor the year-round commitment that school board members make to our district and the community.”

In FSD3, school board members develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues affecting the entire community. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of over $30 million, 3,000 students, more than 500 employees and nine campuses.

As a part of School Board Recognition Month, FSD3 board members participated in an official signing of the South Carolina School Board Member Ethical Principles during their January school board meeting. By signing the principles, school board members publicly vowed to uphold effective governance principles and pledged to improve public education in their community.

Each board member was “adopted” by an FSD3 school and invited to visit and tour classrooms and interact with students and staff.

The men and women serving FCSD3 and their years of service are: Barbara Singletary-Bryant (11 years), Paula Morris (19 years), Rutha Frieson (five years), Dr. Julia Mims (11 years current service and 21 years total) Jac’Kel Brown (four years), Jason Kirby (four years), Gloria Robinson (four years), Mattie Thomas (four years) and Rebecca Yates (newly elected).
Composite image of FSD3 board of trustees members