Two Named Junior Scholars

Two Named Junior Scholars
Posted on 03/01/2019

Image of two FCSD3 students slected as Junior Scholars

Two students at J. Paul Truluck Creative Arts and Science Magnet School have been identified as 2018-2019 South Carolina Junior Scholars.

Eighth graders Taylor Elizabeth Robinson and Madison Logan Shake were recognized by the Florence County School District Three board of trustees at its regular monthly meeting Thursday.

Junior Scholars eligibility requirements are:

  • Students who scored 550 or higher on the Evidence-Based Reading and Writing or 530 or higher on the Math portion of the PSAT/NMSQT; or 
  • Students who participated in Duke University's Talent Identification Program (TIP) during their seventh-grade year, who met the eligibility requirements as outlined by that program and were identified and recognized by Duke TIP at the State Recognition or Grand Recognition ceremony will be identified as South Carolina Junior Scholars.

The Junior Scholar recipients will be recognized at local awards ceremonies, receive an Award of Merit from the State Department of Education, and are invited to attend summer opportunities at participating South Carolina colleges and universities.

Francis Marion University and the Pee Dee Education Center will host a recognition ceremony for the Junior Scholars in the Pee Dee. Each Junior Scholar will receive a letter and certificate from Francis Marion University making him or her eligible for a $1,000 scholarship to FMU.

The South Carolina Junior Scholars Program was developed in 1985-86 by the State Department of Education to identify eighth-grade students with exceptional academic talent and to determine strategies for their inclusion in special programs.