Recent News

Dr. Lane N. Floyd
FCSD3 Board Chairman Resigns
The chairman of Florence County School District Three’s board of trustees has resigned effective immediately. Dr. Lane N. Floyd resigned for personal reasons and submitted his letter of resignation to Superintendent Laura Hickson.
Read More about FCSD3 Board Chairman Resigns
Weather Make Up Day Image
Board Approves Make Up Day
FCSD3 board of trustees approved the administration’s recommendation to make up the school day lost due to Hurricane Irma on Wednesday, January 3.
Read More about Board Approves Make Up Day

About US

Florence County School District Three, located in lower Florence County, is the second largest of the five school districts in the county. The district is at the midpoint between Columbia and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina - approximately 65 miles east of Columbia and 65 miles west of Myrtle Beach.

The district is home to many well-known graduates, such as Challenger astronaut and physicist Dr. Ronald E. McNair, as well as many doctors, lawyers, educators, judges and business leaders.

A 9-member Board of Trustees, elected from seven single-member districts, governs the school district.